Noah (2014)

If you follow me on Twitter, you know my review of Aronofsky’s newest masterpiece is going to be glowing.

Noah was glorious. I was hesitant to see it, I’d heard people saying it’s going to be bad, the religious source material (okay, the Bible) made me suspicious. Noah wasn’t defined by its source, or story, or actors, or screenplay even. It all came together, every inch of it was in perfect harmony. Aronofsky created a marvellous symbiotic film where every piece fit together, where each member of the cast fit every aspect of their character and each second the score’s volume was chosen perfectly.

Russell Crowe sings a bit, but so does Emma Watson, and the last is hauntingly beautiful, so I think even the Les Mis haters would be fine, because Crowe really gives his all as Noah, as disgusting as he is at moments, it’s impossible to not understand him. I wasn’t sure about Watson here, at first, but she and Jennifer Connelly, who played Noah’s wife, were miles ahead of the men in the film, and I often found myself speechless watching Logan Lerman, portaying Noah’s second son. The youngest son, who really reminded me of Bran from Game of Thrones, was the only one left without a storyline, but I can stand by that choice, as there was enough going on anyway, and that could’ve been pushing the line.

Did we really need Ray Winstone’s character to go that long of a way, though? It might be my gut talking, as I don’t tolerate that kind of stuff at all, but I felt like the tension was heightened to a level that high that it (1) made me physically sick and (2) started actually lowering itself. The climax of his story bordered on ridiculous for me. Maybe it’s great storytelling and I missed the mark here, but I felt like it was unnecessarily terrifying.

The visuals. Holy s–t, the visuals. When the first trailer came out, a lot of people (including yours truly) complained about the raw look of the CGI. In the months that followed, a lot of magic was worked on it, and the result is a gorgeous, enthralling, breathtaking sight all through the film. From Noah’s underwater dreams, mass scenes with Cain’s people and animals storming on the ark, it’s almost impossible to play favourites and yes, my mouth did fall open a few times and yep, I gasped for air (and clinged to my companion’s arm) a few times.

Going back to the beginning of the film, something that I most enjoyed, which came as a huge surprise to me, were the stories from the Bible. Only because of Sati’s Black Swan posts I knew to look out for hidden images (which, + the cinematography I’ll definitely make a post on when the DVD becomes available) and they were simply genius. Watch closely as people kill people.

All right, so I think I’ve mentioned everything I adored about this film. (Which was pretty much everything.) I did also love the plug for vegetarians, that was fun. Was I a minority in loving the crap out of Noah, or did you guys too? Or if you haven’t seen — are you excited?

31 responses to “Noah (2014)

  1. Good review. A very strange movie that I constantly still find myself thinking about it. Don’t know if that’s necessarily a good thing or a bad thing for this movie, but at least it’s still a thing, right?

  2. I can’t wait to see this! I’m a bit suspicious of the source material too, but I trust Aronofsky too much to let that suspicion overtake my excitement. Great review Elina, shall keep an eye out for the hidden images for sure!

    • Thank you, Anna! I want to stick my tongue out at anyone who said Aronofsky can’t make an epic. It was awesome. I’ll definitely be looking forward to your review!

  3. Well, if you saw my review you know your not alone…I pretty much salivated all over this, despite the flaws. It’s probably going to be the best film of 2014 because of the ‘chatter factor’. I mean, I still think of nothing else.

    • I think it’s a bit early to say that it’s the film of the year, but I’m 100% sure it’ll make into my top 5. I absolutely get how you can’t think of anything else. It was so great!

  4. Good to hear that the CGI was improved upon after the trailers. Your glowing review makes me excited to watch this one of these days!

  5. Great review! I’m not entirely sold on this one yet. I think it might be a rental for me. I completely forgot Logan Lerman is in this. Was he in any promotional material?

    • I have no idea. I didn’t recognise him in the film. After I found out he was, I went “aaaaah! Yes, of course!”, but he wow-ed me anyway. I think it’s OK to see it at home too, but I’ll be looking forward to your review. I think much of the charm for me came from being nonchalant about it — I didn’t really expect a good film.

  6. Despite the flaws, This was a fun time at the movies and cast,visuals,story etc were all pretty grand. Great review! Hopefully Aronofsky comes out with another film soon!

  7. Great review! This is getting such varied reviews but good to see you loved it! I wasn’t bothered at all initially but I’m actually quite looking forward to it now.

  8. Great review. You definitely enjoyed this one more than me – it fell apart after the flood for me and seemed to be going in too many directions. Still a powerful film though with some interesting messages, just not one of my favourite Aronofsky films. Looking forward to hearing your insights on the hidden images when the DVD is out.

    • Great directors have a dark side — if their previous works are masterpieces, they have to always do better. I understand how not everyone were wowed by it, but I’m glad to hear you found it powerful. 🙂

  9. Great review Elina! I really liked it too. Some of the imagery was beautiful and frightening at the same time and the film made me think about it for days after. Russell Crowe was great but i didn’t think the rest of the cast were as good. Great movie

  10. Well this makes me much more interested in the film! Perhaps I will have to check it out!

  11. Didn’t really have a lot of interest in it, but I gotta say I’m intrigued. I don’t think it’s something I would traditionally like, but I think I’ll have to check it out for the visuals alone. Thanks for the great review!

  12. I watched it, but am not that hyped up for the script. The acting was masterful though. I wrote a piece about what I think of it here: http://yyanchev.com/2014/04/06/noah/

  13. Pingback: Commercial Break #6 | Mettel Ray

  14. Great review! I’ll catch it on DVD for Aronofsky, but seeing Crowe in the cast and the whole basis for the story don’t make me particularly convinced I’ll enjoy it. Well, at the very least I’m sure I’ll like all the hidden stuff 🙂

  15. I thoroughly enjoyed Noah; I felt some of the second half dragged out too long but the layers of symbolism throughout are so strong. Darren parallels the current environmental crises so well with the religious aspect. I think both sides are where audiences get lost (besides the Transformers-rock people, who I didn’t mind so much). Connelly and Watson were fantastic, as were the male cast. It’s a great follow-up to Black Swan. 😀

  16. Pingback: In Case You Missed It: Darren Aprilofsky Week 4 | French Toast Sunday

  17. Pingback: Darren Aprilofsky in Review | French Toast Sunday

  18. I have to say that I did not enjoy the film at all. I found it to be boring, unimaginative and dull.

Tell me, tell me, TELL ME